RSS

Note to Self 60

03 Nov

This is the second part of a two part Word Press Daily ChallengeDailyPrompt” topic in which I was asked to fist write a letter to myself at age 14, which I did here.  In this second part I was asked to write a letter to myself at age 60.  I hope you enjoy this as much as I did.  Thanks for reading!

Dear Matt Walker (age 60)

Hey Matt!  From the looks of it retirement is treating you very well.  You certainly weren’t kidding about not being one of those retired folks who couldn’t get enough of their job.  You hung up the badge and gun belt and it was FOR REAL!  I guess 30 plus years of service were enough for a lifetime huh?  Also, what’s up with all the cruises?  It seems like they would get old after being at sea for 10 out of 12 months for the last five years straight!  And never put on a single pound?  What?  How the hell does that happen?  I did hear about your Gangnam Style dance “workout video” on YouTube that went viral and made you a fortune, but I guess you were right about the cardio benefits because it’s still around after 20 years.  Good job helping move the crappy pop-culture of today into something positive.

I guess you’re reading this and remembering what it felt like to turn 40.  Yeah I know, it’s the same as turning 39, except there are no more threes.  Other than that there wasn’t much difference right?

I have to tell you, taking up writing when you were 40 was a brilliant move!  Who would have thought that your first book deal would go straight to the number one best seller list in less than a week?  Some cats have all the luck, and YOU my friend take the cake.  Congratulations!  Too bad you can’t send some of the fortune back to to help me smooth things out while in the midst of Obama’s lackluster “hope and change” debacle.   Thankfully President Romney turned things around quite quickly.  Imagine if President Obama had been re-elected right as your book sales made you a millionaire.  Obamacare would have just been rolling out in full force.  One thing’s for sure, in lieu of reaping the benefits of your intellectual property, which “YOU BUILT”, the government would have taken a “fair share” to pay for Obama’s free healthcare for everyone who weren’t willing to push past the benefit income cap that breeds slothful behavior as a result of such a socialized system.  You my friend seem to thrive and while doing so never forgot the ones who were truly needy and deserving among us.  Good for you and I knew you had it in you to carry on that legacy of charitable work.

Well, it’s 6:30 PM in the time zone you’re sailing through so I imagine that it’s passed your bedtime.  I’ll just say that I’m glad retirement didn’t lead you to the front door of a Wal Mart with a come-over and a blue vest nodding at customers as they enter.  You’re an American success story and I’m sure we’ll be reading more about it soon.  Bon Voyage buddy!  Enjoy the tequila sunrises and Dos XX’s my friend.  I’ll speak to you in about 20 years when you will receive this letter while sitting on your cabin balcony overlooking the Alaskan glaciers with Denise and a warm cinnamon bun.

Sincerely,

Matt Walker (age 40)

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Note to Self 60

  1. Kurt Milam

    11/03/2012 at 8:24 am

    Bon voyage!

     
  2. shatashari

    11/03/2012 at 1:30 pm

    I was enjoying your letter until you spoke politics. I stopped reading there, it was good up to that point.

     
    • Matt Walker

      11/03/2012 at 1:35 pm

      It’s okay. I’m glad you enjoyed what you did read. Thanks for commenting.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 371 other followers

